FavouritesAdd to Wish List
FavouritesAdd to Wish List
from25.00EUR/ h

English language and written courses to prepare you for university in the United Kingdom.

My tutoring prepares students in their final years of school who are looking to move to the UK for higher education. The standard for essay writing is very high and students can struggle to communicate their understanding in reflective and analytical ways, in line with UK-based institutions.
I would focus on the English writing skills they have and develop these to a university standard.
I have studied my undergraduate BA in International Politics at King's College, my MSc in Gender and Social Policy at the London School of Economics and Political Science and completed a graduate scheme with Frontline, qualifying as a social worker in 2017. I am well equipped to prepare students moving to the UK and looking to achieve a high academic standard.
In preparation for leaving home and alongside the academic development that I focus on, I will be working on communication skills and confidence-building. I have qualified for my first year in systemic family therapy training and use these skills to support young people with new contexts, communication skills and adult, independent environments.

Extra information

Bring your essays, coursework and any examples of written work, including blogs, articles, poems or short stories.

Location

At student's location: Around Schaarbeek, Belgium
Online via webcam

Use ⊞+wheel to zoom!
+

General info

Skills:

English:
School

Age:

Children (7-12 years old)
Teenagers (13-17 years old)
Adults (18-64 years old)

Student level:

Beginner
Intermediate
Advanced

Duration:

60 minutes
90 minutes
120 minutes

The class is taught in:

English, French, German

About Me

I am a relaxed, attentive and confident adult in my mid-twenties. I have recently moved back to Brussels, where I grew up to develop my teaching skills and prepare to move to Australia in mid-2019.
I thrive in meeting new people and am fascinated by travel and experiencing different professional environments and cultural contexts.

Education

BA International Politics, King's College.
Study Abroad Programme, Hong Kong University.
MSc Gender, Policy and Inequalities, London School of Economics and Political Science.
PGDip in Advanced Systemic Social Work Practice with The Frontline Programme.

Experience / Qualifications

NGO and charity work sector experience in India (various location), Ethiopia (Addis Ababa) and the United Kingdom (London).
A social worker in child protection in London (Newham Local Authority).
Reported on EU policy and legislation in the Brussels consultancy sector.
Various administrative positions during my studies as well as part-time work in restaurants and bars since I was 17.

Ask a question

Send a message explaining your needs and Alexandra will reply soon:
The more detail, the better.
Ex. "Hi, when are you available to meet for a lesson?"

Availability of a typical week

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
7  Monday at 7:00  Tuesday at 7:00  Wednesday at 7:00  Thursday at 7:00  Friday at 7:00  Saturday at 7:00  Sunday at 7:00
8  Monday at 8:00  Tuesday at 8:00  Wednesday at 8:00  Thursday at 8:00  Friday at 8:00  Saturday at 8:00  Sunday at 8:00
9  Monday at 9:00  Tuesday at 9:00  Wednesday at 9:00  Thursday at 9:00  Friday at 9:00  Saturday at 9:00  Sunday at 9:00
10  Monday at 10:00  Tuesday at 10:00  Wednesday at 10:00  Thursday at 10:00  Friday at 10:00  Saturday at 10:00  Sunday at 10:00
11  Monday at 11:00  Tuesday at 11:00  Wednesday at 11:00  Thursday at 11:00  Friday at 11:00  Saturday at 11:00  Sunday at 11:00
12  Monday at 12:00  Tuesday at 12:00  Wednesday at 12:00  Thursday at 12:00  Friday at 12:00  Saturday at 12:00  Sunday at 12:00
13  Monday at 13:00  Tuesday at 13:00  Wednesday at 13:00  Thursday at 13:00  Friday at 13:00  Saturday at 13:00  Sunday at 13:00
14  Monday at 14:00  Tuesday at 14:00  Wednesday at 14:00  Thursday at 14:00  Friday at 14:00  Saturday at 14:00  Sunday at 14:00
15  Monday at 15:00  Tuesday at 15:00  Wednesday at 15:00  Thursday at 15:00  Friday at 15:00  Saturday at 15:00  Sunday at 15:00
16  Monday at 16:00  Tuesday at 16:00  Wednesday at 16:00  Thursday at 16:00  Friday at 16:00  Saturday at 16:00  Sunday at 16:00
17  Monday at 17:00  Tuesday at 17:00  Wednesday at 17:00  Thursday at 17:00  Friday at 17:00  Saturday at 17:00  Sunday at 17:00
18  Monday at 18:00  Tuesday at 18:00  Wednesday at 18:00  Thursday at 18:00  Friday at 18:00  Saturday at 18:00  Sunday at 18:00
19  Monday at 19:00  Tuesday at 19:00  Wednesday at 19:00  Thursday at 19:00  Friday at 19:00  Saturday at 19:00  Sunday at 19:00
20  Monday at 20:00  Tuesday at 20:00  Wednesday at 20:00  Thursday at 20:00  Friday at 20:00  Saturday at 20:00  Sunday at 20:00
21  Monday at 21:00  Tuesday at 21:00  Wednesday at 21:00  Thursday at 21:00  Friday at 21:00  Saturday at 21:00  Sunday at 21:00
22  Monday at 22:00  Tuesday at 22:00  Wednesday at 22:00  Thursday at 22:00  Friday at 22:00  Saturday at 22:00  Sunday at 22:00
23  Monday at 23:00  Tuesday at 23:00  Wednesday at 23:00  Thursday at 23:00  Friday at 23:00  Saturday at 23:00  Sunday at 23:00
from 25€Online via webcam
from 29€At student's home

Good-fit Instructor Guarantee

Our guarantee for your private lessons that will let you find tutors without worrying.

If you are not satisfied after your first lesson, Apprentus will find you another instructor or will refund your first lesson.

Online reputation

  • Instructor since September 2018
  • Google+ connected

Good-fit Instructor Guarantee

Our guarantee for your private lessons that will let you find tutors without worrying.

If you are not satisfied after your first lesson, Apprentus will find you another instructor or will refund your first lesson.

Share

   LinkedIn      Google+

Akin
English/Dutch, Science: Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Test Prep Tutoring, IELTS (Secondary school & Higher Education)
I have 5 years (curriculum junior certificate) tutoring experience in maths, physics and chemistry which I have done in Dublin, Ireland beside my Bachelors degree in Nanotechnology and Quantum physics. I do single sessions targeting specific questions and problems beside multiple lessons in preparation for an exam/test (private one-to-one and classroom environment). I have an IELTS score of 8.5/9 and I'm a native dutch speaker. I enjoy helping students achieving good scores on their tests and improving their general understanding of science. Do not hesitate to contact me for more information! :)

Mugdha
English Tutor,TOEIC Prep tutoring,IELTS Prep tutoring
Thank you for visiting my profile. I am a CELTA Certified English Teacher.During my MBA, I have acquired both theoretical and practical knowledge of Marketing and Human Resources.I have always loved teaching and sharing my knowledge with others.I am currently working as a Business Communications Trainer for Multi-National Companies.I have also worked in London, in the United Kingdom for 3 years.My work was mostly based on sales and marketing but I was also involved in training the newcomers and assessing their performances.This helped me realize how passionate I am about training. Outside of teaching, I have substantial employment experience in Britain and a subsequently excellent understanding of the needs of those learning English for business, school and academic purposes. I am currently involved in Business Communications Training for Multi-national corporate firms, Preparation for TOEIC Exams, IELTS Exams & CPE(Cambridge Proficiency Exam) and Academic English Training(Primary &High School).I offer tailormade courses depending on individual requirements and needs.

Jonah
Learn German or English with an ex-patrié
German-American offers his humble services to assist you in learning his native languages, whether for a successful exam or just for the sake of better understanding the words of Goethe or Faulkner. Sharing my languages ​​through common interests, such as music, theater or film, are my favorite ways to start learning.

Nadia
French and English tuition - homework help, tutoring, patent preparation, bachelor's degree for students
My methodology is based on identifying the student's deficiencies in the first place. It is essential to assess the level of the student beforehand. Depending on this, adaptations will be implemented. For students with significant deficiencies, this should be addressed first. But not only occasionally because it is usually a "cluster" of various gaps. The study will be done according to 3 axes: the writing, the reading and the oral expression. For more comfortable students, the teaching method will be freer but will also be developed according to the 3 axes mentioned above.

David
English, Dutch, Polish, Spanish, Russian
I am basically based on what the student is struggling with. We work on the part that seems to hinder her in her studies and then we see if the work bears fruit. Only the teacher can not give a perfect course if the pupil himself is not attentive. It must be give-and-donate for it to be effective. See you soon.

Yusuf
English lesson
I will teach you English in a short time, you will become someone who no longer needs subtitles watching official movies.

Elif
Private lessons in English and French for beginners or students
I am a student in translation and interpretation in English, I am in 3rd grade and I have a good level in English and French. I am very patient and attentive. I can move around Brussels (however I do not have a car) or give my classes at home or via webcam.

Jamie
English Language Classes with Native Speaker - Conversational, Listening, Written
Learning a foreign language is an intellectually-challenging and extremely enjoyable and fulfilling endeavor. It is also increasingly important in today's globalized world of work. I am a native English speaker, having grown up in Kent, England. I have a diverse experience teaching languages - teaching young Colombian offenders English in Bogotá, teaching English to Colombian students prior to a year abroad, and teaching Spanish to young professionals in London. Throughout all of my teaching, I try to ensure the lessons are ultimately enjoyable (as this is the most effective way to learn!) and tailor the lesson to the individual needs of the students. Happy to adapt the lessons and style of teaching to the needs and desires of the student; I will be available to teach at the house of my student, at my house, or in a café - wherever is most convenient! I am studying a postgraduate Masters in International Conflict and Security and will be in Brussels throughout the Summer, the remainder of 2018 and the entirety of 2019. Please free feel to contact if you have any questions :)

Kyan
English tutoring
English is the most widely spoken language in the world. It is with it that you will have the easiest to communicate in foreign areas. To communicate it will first of all have to be understood! Beginners, Intermediaries are welcome! I propose you to learn how to express yourself in English (written and oral) During my classes, I will teach you the basics, and will invite you to interact with me in English as much as you can. Do not hesitate to contact me for more information.

Clémence
English
Commercial Engineer (ICHEC) student free to give English classes for all levels. Having gone abroad for one year (Canada, New Brunswick), the best way to teach remains for me based on conversation. Before that, the grammatical and theoretical aspects will of course have to be studied.

Jenniffer
Intreptive English at all levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1.
Graduated in English I can teach both beginner and university level. I am one of those who think that we learn with practice so conversation and interactive activities will be at the heart of my lessons.

Marie
English classes and art classes
English is the first international language and it is a language that allows us to communicate with people even without knowing them in any country. In my classes I do not learn theoretically but I learn orally so that by dint of speaking every day with a person who claims not to know French you can know how to manage in a conversation and by force to manage you go consider that you will know English much better than at first. English is my mother tongue and I would love to share my chance to know this language with others For the art class I learn how to mix colors with oil pastels or not, crayons, water or oil paint and even pencil I also learn to draw. I find that art surrounds us, do you imagine the world without color you?